- Make a Payment Pay regulatory fees, penalties and more online!
Transportation of household goods means the for-hire movement of household goods by motor vehicle over the public highways within the state of Washington.
This includes providing estimates, arranging for receipt, delivery, storage in transit, handling, and providing any accessorial services in connection with that movement.
Companies We Regulate
- Insurance Requirements for Intrastate Motor Carriers
- Form E (Example Only)
- Form H (Example Only)
- Electronic Insurance Filing
The Motor Carrier Safety Program provides safety oversight of privately-owned companies that provide transportation services within Washington state.
Information for Companies
- Unified Carrier Registration (UCR)
- USDOT Number Requirement
- USDOT Biennial Update Info Card
- Consumer Moving Guides - Mandatory to distribute to customers
- Consumer Guide to Moving in Washington State (PDF) - English
- Consumer Guide to Moving in Washington State (PDF) - Spanish - En Español
- Consumer Guide to Moving in Washington State (PDF) - Russian - На русском
- Consumer Guide to Moving in Washington State (PDF) - Chinese Traditional - 繁體中文
- Consumer Guide to Moving in Washington State (PDF) - Vietnamese - Bằng tiếng việt
- Motor Carrier Insurance Requirements - Fact Sheet
- Transportation Fact Sheet
- Transportation Contacts
Estimated processing time for a complete application is about 1.3 days. Incomplete applications can take an average of 28 days to process which includes mandatory training.
You must attend a commission-sponsored training prior to receiving your provisional permit. Please see the upcoming dates.
If you cannot wait until the next training, you may come to a commission-sponsored orientation, however, you will also be required to attend a later training.
- Application for Permit
- Attachment A - Household Goods Statement of Support
- Household Goods Permit Application - Filled Out Example
- Household Goods - Company or Trade Name Change
- Household Goods Transfer of Permit Authority
- Permit Cancellation Request
- Annual Report Forms
Resources for Movers
- Sample Bill of Lading
- Cube Sheet (Table of Measurements)
- Sample Cube Sheet (Table of Measurements)
- Sample Estimate
Alternate Time Recording Form
Carriers who choose to bill minimums other than those approved in Tariff 15-C must complete and submit the Alternate Time Recording form. Alternate selections become effective five business days after the form is submitted to Docket TV-230500 though the eFiling portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form. Fill in the required fields on the eFiling form in the Filing Type field select “Other” then pick docket number 230500. If you complete all the company information fields at the bottom of the Alternate Time Recording form, you do not need to submit a cover letter. Alternative time recording selections cannot be more than what is currently approved in Tariff 15-C, alternate time recording selections can only be less than provisions currently approved in Tariff 15-C.
For More Information
Email: Licensing Services with questions about the application process and insurance
Or Phone: 360-664-1222
Email: Consumer Protection with tariff and rule questions
P.O. Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250