First-Class Cities

First-class cities are responsible for ensuring safety at their railroad crossings. To assist with safety inspections at these crossings, first-class cities can opt-in to the UTC’s Crossing Safety Inspection Program.  

Updating Railroad Crossing Data

By law, first-class cities must provide the UTC with updated railroad crossing inventory information within 30 days of a public crossing modification, opening, or closure. Cities may email updates to

UTC Crossing Safety Inspection Program 

The UTC's Crossing Safety Inspection Program includes periodic crossing inspections, identification of defects, and defect correction enforcement. Participating cities may also request technical assistance from the UTC on crossing safety, maintenance, and modifications.

To opt-in, a first-class city must notify the UTC at least 60 days prior to their requested effective date. A request to opt-in must include documentation of the city's governing body approving a memorandum of understanding between the city and the UTC.

First-Class Cities in Washington

Aberdeen, *Bellingham, Bremerton, Everett, *Richland, Seattle, Spokane, *Tacoma, *Vancouver, Yakima

Cities marked with an asterisk have opted-in to UTC’s Crossing Safety Inspection Program.


Please email