911 and Other Special Service Numbers

911 and Other Special Service Numbers

N11 is a three-digit shortcut to reach special community services. The numbers are set aside by the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) and operated by the provider of the service.

N11 codes

FCC Regulations

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) in CC Docket 92-105, specified how 211, 311, 511, 711 and 811 codes would be used for various types of public information.

Suicide Prevention Lifeline: Dial 988. Call or text 988

On July 16, 2022, the FCC created the National Suicide Prevention Lifeine. Callers may dial 988 or text 988 to reach the lifeline.  

In order for 988 to work, the FCC required Washington state to implement 10-digit dialing for its Eastern Washington area code 509 starting in 2021. The entire state of Washington is now operating under mandatory 10-digit dialing, even when making local calls.