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Dig Law Questions?

Law Questions and Outreach
(360) 664-1118

Locate Problem
(888) 333-9882

Call Before You Dig
811 or callbeforeyoudig.org

PO Box 47250
1300 S Evergreen Park Dr. SW
Olympia WA 98504

www.utc.wa.gov

UTC Mission

The UTC regulates the

services of privately or

investor owned utility and
transportation companies. Our
mission is to ensure that services
are fairly priced, available,
reliable and safe.

PHMSA Grants
Each year

PHMSA offers
grants to

agencies, groups
and

organizations

who intend to

use it for promoting damage
prevention, public safety and
education efforts. Requests can be
made up to $45,000. For more
information about grants offered
by PHMSA, click here.

Utilities and Transportation Commission

Damage Reporting

Make sure you are entering your damage data within 45-
calendar days of the event. If information is submitted late,
it does not get included in our analysis. Remember, anyone
who witnesses damage is required to report. That means we
should be seeing two reports for every damage. If you have
not already registered with the commission’s VirtualDIRT,
click here. If you have any questions regarding DIRT,
sharing data or the new requirement, contact Anna Gill.

Safety Committee Update

If you have a complaint regarding
violations of the dig law as of Jan. 1,
file a complaint with the Dig Law
Safety Committee. Keep in mind,
complaints brought to the
committee will be heard at the next = s
quarterly meeting. You will be required to present your case
either in person or via telephone and provide
documentation to support your claim. The committee’s next
meeting and first hearing will be held on Sept. 17 at the Wild
Horse Wind and Solar Facility in Vantage (pictured above).
For more information about the Safety Committee, contact

them via the Washington Utilities Coordinating Council.

Dig-Safe Training

The National Utility Contractors
Association (NUCA) of Washington
has developed a comprehensive
training for all industry
stakeholders called “Dig-Safe
Certification.” The training covers
best digging practices and changes
to the dig law. If you are interested in scheduling a training,
contact, click here.

Volume 2, Issue 3

Question of the Month

With the new law now in effect, we
thought it would be helpful to
publish questions pertaining to the
new dig law in each update.
Remember, the commission is here
to help with any questions or
issues you might have.

Q: If I am doing work for a larger
project, and the general has
already requested a locate, can I
work off that ticket?

A: No. The statute states that the
“the excavator must provide
notice...” (RCW 19.122.031(1))
Digging using someone else's
ticket sets you up for liability
issues as well as statute violations.
Save yourself the headache and
make the call. Don’t forget, once
located, it is your responsibility to
maintain those marks for 45 days
or the life of your project,
whichever is shorter.

If you have any questions
regarding this answer, or about
RCW 19.122 in general, contact
Anna Gill.

8/11 Day

August 11 is 811 day!
Use this opportunity
to spread the word
about the importance
of calling 811 before you dig.

If you would like to receive dig law updates, please email agill@utc.wa.gov.
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