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November 3, 2009



Subject:  Your Charter and Excursion Annual Safety Report and Regulatory Fees are Due December 31, 2009

You are required to file an annual safety report and pay regulatory fees if you operate as a charter or excursion company. 

What is required of me?
By December 31, you must:
· Complete and file the enclosed 2009 annual safety report form.
· Pay your 2010 regulatory fees.

If you are using U.S. postal mail to send your annual safety report and pay your regulatory fee, the envelope must be postmarked by Tuesday, December 29, 2008. If you are planning on using another delivery method, the company must ensure that it arrives at the commission by 5:00 p.m. Thursday, December 31, 2009.

Failure to file or mail your annual safety report or pay regulatory fees by December 31, 2009 will result in a penalty and possible cancellation of your permit to operate in Washington. This is the only notice you will receive from the commission.

What happens if I do not pay my regulatory fees by December 31?
 If regulatory fees are not paid by December 31, you will incur: 
· a 2 percent penalty on the amount due; and  
· a 1 percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid balance.

Can I request an extension of time if I am unable to file the annual safety report by December 31?
Yes, you must provide the request in writing, including a valid reason for the extension by December 31. We will notify you when your request is approved or denied. You will still be liable for penalty and interest payments if you fail to pay your regulatory fees by December 31. If you are late filing your annual safety report or fail to file, you could incur additional penalties up to $100 a day.





What if I didn’t operate during the year?
You must indicate this on the report and regulatory fee sheet that you’ve had no operations, include the minimum $25 fee and return both forms to the commission. If you are no longer using your charter or excursion authority and wish to cancel it, go to our website at www.utc.wa.gov and locate the, “voluntary permit cancellation form” or call us at 
(360) 664-1222 and we’ll mail you the form.

Where do I mail the completed annual safety report form and regulatory fee payment? 
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
PO Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

Where can I obtain an electronic version of the annual safety report?
Forms are available on our website at www.utc.wa.gov.  Locate “Quick Links” then select “2009 annual safety report”.

Who do I contact if I have questions?
You may call Tom McVaugh at (360) 664-1237 or e-mail him at tmcvaugh@utc.wa.gov for questions related to the annual safety report. If you have questions calculating your regulatory fee, penalties or interest, call Rae Lynn Carnes at (360) 664-1152 or e-mail her at rcarnes@utc.wa.gov. If you need this information in an alternate format, please call 
(360) 664-1133. TTY Toll Free phone number is (800) 416-5289 or (360) 586-8203.

Sincerely,




David W. Danner
Executive Director and Secretary

Enclosures
