UTC appoints permanent pipeline safety director

UTC appoints permanent pipeline safety director

LACEY, Wash. – This week, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission announced the appointment of Scott Rukke as the permanent director of Pipeline Safety.

As director, Rukke will lead the UTC division responsible for conducting inspections of Washington’s natural gas and hazardous liquid pipelines to ensure operators comply with state and federal pipeline safety standards.

Rukke has an extensive background in pipeline safety, spending 23 years with the UTC’s Pipeline Safety Program and 20 years with Puget Sound Energy. Rukke served as the acting pipeline safety director since January of this year and his permanent appointment began on Monday, May 1.

Established by the Legislature in 1955, the UTC’s Pipeline Safety Program regulates the safety practices of 33 pipeline operators and conducts safety inspections on more than 44,000 miles of natural gas and hazardous-liquid pipelines in Washington.  

The UTC regulates the rates and services of household goods movers; passenger transportation companies; investor-owned electric, natural gas, garbage, and water utilities; landline telecommunications companies; garbage haulers; commercial ferries; pipeline companies; marine pilotage; and a low-level radioactive waste repository.  


Pipeline Safety