Docket Number: TG-190672
LACEY, Wash. - The Utilities and Transportation Commission recently reinstated a $105,500 suspended penalty against Westside Waste, LLC after UTC staff found that the solid waste company violated a settlement agreement when it operated illegally in the state without a solid waste certificate from the UTC.
State regulators previously approved a settlement agreement between UTC staff and the company in March 2020, ordering the company to cease and desist operations without a valid certificate, issuing a total fine of $113,000 for 113 violations of state law, and suspending all but $7,500 of the penalty dependent on the company remaining violation-free for two years. The company admitted to the violations and agreed to the terms of the settlement.
In a compliance review during that period, UTC staff found that the company continued to operate illegally without a certificate and recommended that the commission impose the remaining $105,500 penalty.
The company did not respond to staff’s allegations or request a hearing.
Washington state law requires companies to obtain a solid waste certificate from the Utilities and Transportation Commission to transport waste for compensation.
Customers can check to see if their solid waste company’s certificate is active by using the look-up tool on the UTC’s website, and can report any suspected illegal garbage companies by emailing email@example.com, calling 360-522-6121, or online.
Westside Waste is a solid waste transportation company based out of Snohomish County, Washington.
The UTC regulates the rates and services of household goods movers; passenger transportation companies; investor-owned electric, natural gas, garbage, and water utilities; landline telecommunications companies; garbage haulers; commercial ferries; pipeline companies; marine pilotage; and a low-level radioactive waste repository.