Washington Dig Law

For Realtors

Remember to call 8-1-1 before you dig—even for real

estate signs.

Washington’s dig law, RCW 19.122, protects the
state’s vital underground utility infrastructure from

damage caused by digging.
What are the basics?

You are required to call 811 for a free utility locate
at least two business days before starting any
digging project. You can also request a locate

online at www.callbeforeyoudig.org. Digging
cannot begin until the locate has been completed.
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How does this effect the real estate industry?

When installing any type of sign, including those
used for real estate, a locate must be requested.
Residential yards have numerous underground
utility lines that can be damaged when installing
a sign. Not only is damaging an underground
utility costly, it also poses a safety hazard.

'The law requires excavators outline dig areas in
white paint prior to calling for a locate. This
reduces the amount of markings in the yard and
ensures the locate is performed correctly.

Education & Outreach PO Box 47250
360-664-1118 Olympia, WA 98504-7250
www.utc.wa. g ()%


http://www.utc.wa.gov
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=19.122
http://www.callbeforeyoudig.org

Dig Law—Realtor Responsibilities

What is considered excavation?

'The law defines excavation as: “any operation, including the installation of signs, in which earth, rock, or other

material on or below the ground is moved or otherwise displaced by any means.” (RCW 19.122.010(8))
Does the law apply to homeowners?

Yes. Homeowners are required to follow the requirements of the law. An exemption allows property owners or
occupants of noncommercial property to dig fewer than 12 inches without requesting utility locates. This
exemption also applies to employees of the property owner.

How does the “call before you dig” work?

After you provide information about your project, 811 will notify and coordinate all of the utilities that have
facilities in your area. The utilities will come out and mark your dig site with paint or flags indicating the
location and type of any underground lines. After the two business days have passed and all utilities have been
marked, you are free to dig.

How is the law enforced?

Enforcement of the dig law is complaint driven. A safety committee hears complaints of alleged violations and
recommends enforcement action to the commission. The UT'C or Washington Attorney General’s Office
would issue any enforcement action, including penalties, if necessary.

If a sign is installed without first requesting a locate and a utility is damaged, the excavator is at risk of having
a complaint brought against them by the utility.

What are the penalties for violating the dig law?
An individual found in violation of RCW 19.122, may be subject to the following penalties:

Dig without calling two days in advance, pay a $1,000 fine.

Dig without calling and damage a utility, pay a $10,000 fine and triple the repair costs.

Dig within 35 feet of a transmission pipeline without calling, risk being found guilty of a misdemeanor.
Dig without calling and damage a transmission pipeline, pay a $10,000 fine, triple repair costs and spend
30 days in jail.

What do I do if there is something wrong with my locate?

If your locate is late, inaccurate, or incomplete, you can file a complaint with the Dig Law Safety Committee
online at www.washington-ucc.org/complaint.

If you would like more information, call (360) 664-1118 or visit www.utc.wa.gov/diglaw.
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