Title

State takes action against four unpermitted moving companies

Published

5/20/2011

Details

Docket Number: TV-110123, TV-101916, TV-101917, TV-110116
 
State takes action against four unpermitted moving companies
 
Olympia, Wash. – State regulators have taken action against four residential moving companies that had been operating without a permit in Washington.
 
  • The Utilities and Transportation Commission (UTC) issued a $10,000 penalty against Spokane-based Dependable Deliveries and ordered it to cease and desist from operating as a residential mover in Washington. The UTC found the company had been operating without a valid permit and in violation of state regulation, but agreed to dismiss the penalty after two years if the company refrains from operations as a residential mover in Washington.
  • The UTC issued a $7,500 penalty against Melissa E. Harley d/b/a Harley and Son Relocation Services, based in Port Orchard. The UTC found the company was operating without a valid permit and in violation of state regulations, but agreed to dismiss the penalty after two years if Harley ceases operations as a residential mover in the state.
  • The UTC suspended a $10,000 penalty against Seattle’s Daniel Puetz d/b/a Motivated Movers after Puetz applied for and received a valid operating permit. The UTC issued the penalty after it found Puetz to operating illegally, but agreed to dismiss the penalty after two years if the company complies fully with all the commission rules and requirements governing residential movers.
  • The UTC suspended a $10,000 penalty against Smooth Moves of Kennewick after the company applied for and received a valid permit. The UTC issued the penalty after finding the company had been operating illegally, but agreed to dismiss the penalty after one year if the company fully complies with UTC rules and regulations governing residential movers.
The UTC is the state agency in charge of enforcing consumer protection and safety regulations for more than 200 residential moving companies operating within the state. Movers are required to get a permit from the UTC, charge appropriate rates, carry proper insurance, drug test their drivers and keep their vehicles safely maintained. The commission does not regulate interstate moving companies. 
 
###

News Category

Consumer; Transportation

Attachments

Content Type: Announcement
Created at 5/20/2011 3:03 PM by Maxwell, Amanda (UTC)
Last modified at 5/20/2011 3:03 PM by Maxwell, Amanda (UTC)