(360) 664-1116 or firstname.lastname@example.org Docket numbers:
TV-140338, TV-140339, TV-140340, TV-140341, TV-140342, TV-140343, TV-140344, TV-140345. TV-1403435
State takes action against nine illegal residential moving companies
OLYMPIA, Wash. – State regulators took action against nine residential moving companies that have been operating without permits in Washington.
An administrative law judge at the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (UTC) ordered the nine moving companies to cease providing residential moving services illegally until they obtain the required permit.
Six of the residential moving companies received a $5,000 penalty, $4,500 of which was suspended for two years on the condition that the companies comply with the commission order. The six companies are:
• Queen City Movers LLC, owned by Johnathan Jorde of Seattle;
• Sea-Tac Movers LLC, owned by Doyin Adekanmbi of Lake Stevens;
• Eastside & All City Movers, owned by Lyle and Darcy Allen of Everett;
• Fast Affordable Movers, owned by Steven Ronald Erickson of Kennewick;
• Pro Moving Delivery, owned by Alexander Satir of Tacoma; and
• Cope Quality Services, owned by Carrie Creech of Poulsbo.
Three companies failed to appear and were fined $5,000. Those companies are Sequim-based Movers Plus, owned by Joshua Washburn; Ellensburg-based Man of Steel Movers, owned by Michael Pandolfi; and Everett-based Precision Moving, owned by Christoper Dems.
The commission urges consumers to do their homework before hiring a mover. Prior to moving, consumers should:
• Call the commission at 1-888-333-WUTC (9882) to verify the mover’s permit status and complaint history;
• Compare costs by getting at least two written estimates;
• Check online reviews and complaints about the mover;
• Know the mover’s full name, address and phone number; and
• Get a written, signed inventory list from the company of all belongings being transported.
The UTC is the state’s watchdog agency in charge of enforcing consumer protection and safety regulations for more than 200 residential moving companies operating within the state. Movers must charge appropriate rates, carry proper insurance and keep their vehicles safely maintained. The commission does not regulate interstate moving companies.