: (360) 664-1116 or firstname.lastname@example.org Docket numbers
: TV-130324, TV-130325, TV-130326, TV-130327, TV-130328, TV-130329, TV-130331
OLYMPIA, Wash. – State regulators took action today against seven residential moving companies that have been operating without permits in Washington.
An administrative law judge at the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (UTC) ordered six moving companies operating illegally to cease providing residential moving services until they obtain the required permit.
Four of the residential moving companies received a $5,000 penalty, $4,500 of which was suspended for two years conditioned on the companies’ compliance with the commission order. The four companies are:
• A Father and Fast, Careful Sons Moving, owned by David J. Campbell of Auburn;
• Mark’s Pro Movers, owned by Mark Schueller of Tulalip;
• Professional Relocations Moving Co., owned by Wade Taylor of Bremerton; and
• Smoother Mover, owned by Matthew Twiggs of Richland.
Another mover, Big Earl’s Moving and Hauling, located in Shoreline and owned by Thomas E. Harris, was fined $5,000, a $4,700 portion of which was suspended for two years, provided Harris complies with the commission’s order. Seattle-based Advanced Moving and Packing, owned by Justin Suedel, received a $5,000 penalty that was suspended in full for two years, conditioned on the company’s compliance with the commission’s order.
Jeff’s Express Movers of Seattle, owned by Jeffrey Johnson, failed to appear, and was fined $5,000 by default order.
The commission urges Washington residents to do their homework before hiring a mover. Consumers should:
• Verify the mover’s permit and complaint history with the UTC;
• Compare costs by getting at least two written estimates;
• Check online reviews and complaints about the mover;
• Know the mover’s full name, address and phone number; and
• Get a written, signed inventory list from the company of all belongings being loaded.
The UTC is the state’s watchdog agency in charge of enforcing consumer protection and safety regulations for more than 200 residential moving companies operating within the state. Movers must charge appropriate rates, carry proper insurance and keep their vehicles safely maintained. The commission does not regulate interstate moving companies.