Media Contact: (360) 664-1116
Docket Number: TV-120427
State orders Coeur d’Alene mover to cease operations in Washington state
Regulators impose fine on mover for operating without a valid permit
OLYMPIA, Wash. – State regulators today fined an Idaho-based residential moving company $3,000 for operating without a permit and ordered it to shut down business operations within the state of Washington.
The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (UTC) ordered Todd Gillhoover d/b/a Extraordinary Moving, LLC to cease and desist business operations in Washington related to residential moving. An investigation by commission staff determined that even after receiving specific technical assistance from the commission, the company continued to provide household goods moving services and advertising its services without possessing a valid permit as required by state law.
The commission agreed to waive $2,700 of the penalty after two years, if Gillhoover complies with the terms and requirements in the commission’s order.
The UTC is the state’s watchdog agency in charge of enforcing consumer protection and safety regulations for more than 200 residential moving companies operating within the state.
Movers must charge proper rates, carry insurance and keep their vehicles safely maintained. The commission does not regulate interstate moving companies.